Plants + nicoli: It doesn’t get much better than this!


Plants + nicoli is one of those places that I must have driven past a million times but never noticed because of its closet sized IMG_2570store front. In fact, if I had not received a flyer in the mail a few weeks ago I probably would have never thought to stop.

Like other small “hole-in-the-wall” shops Plants + nicoli has a limited menu. They serve smoothies and muffins. . . . that’s it! Seeing how small this shop was when I pulled up I had pretty low expectations as far as selection was concerned. There was a sign outside which displayed three kinds of smoothies and another sign which simply said “American Muffins”. Can’t go wrong right?

Once I got into the actual store I was blown away by the smell. AMAZING! This is the smell of fresh muffins coming out of an oven, none of this mass produced FamilyMart of DunkyD’s nonsense. As I stepped into the store on my right there was a counter with the largest selection of muffins I have ever seen in one place at one time. Everything from Caramel, Mattcha, Chocolate, Chocolate Chip, Banana, Strawberry, Poppyseed . . . . and those were just what I saw right away. There were at least another 3 or 4 rows which were at first blocked from my view by another excited woman and her daughter.

IMG_2566

Above the counter was a chalkboard with a variety of smoothie flavors including coffee based, fruit based and milk based. I could have tried anything on the menu but overjoyed by the smell of amazing muffins I quickly just said mango before I even IMG_2576gave myself the chance to read the rest of the menu. A few short minutes later and I was walking out of there with 4 muffins and a beautiful mango smoothie.

Once I got home it was time to set myself down and enjoy some of this goodness. Ok. . . . ok. . . . I had some of my smoothie in the car but it was melting! The smoothie (¥400) was absolutely delicious and for the size you really can’t beat the price. I then cracked into my Oreo (or more appropriately “sandwich cookie”) mattcha muffin (¥100).

Goodness Gracious! This is what a muffin tastes like fresh out of the oven and I know because I spent almost my entire life up until I moved to Japan working in the family bakery. Moist! Fluffy! Delicious! It really doesn’t get any better than this!

Whether Oyama is your neck of the woods or you have to take the 10 minute drive down this direction you won’t be disappointed with Plants + nicoli!

2 thoughts on “Plants + nicoli: It doesn’t get much better than this!

Leave a Reply

